Chennai crush Wayamba by 97 runs

first_imgSuresh Raina and Murali Vijay scored breezy half centuries as Chennai Super Kings crushed Wayamba by 97 runs to register their second consecutive win in the Champions League Twenty20 cricket tournament in Centurion on Wednesday.Chennai vs Wayamba, ScoresChampions League 2010 – Special CoverageBrief Scores: Chennai 200-3 (20); Wayamba 103 (17.1) With two victories out of as many matches in Group A, Chennai had inched a step closer towards the semifinal race while Wayamba faces the ignominy of elimination.Sent into bat, Raina scored a blistering 44-ball 87 while Vijay made 68 off 48 deliveries to enable Chennai post a formidable 200 for three in their alloted 20 overs.Raina and Vijay complimented each other well and shared a 137-run second wicket stand that came off just 72 deliveries.Raina bejeweled his innings with six boundaries and as many sixes while Vijay found the fence nine times and crossed it once.For Wayamba Chanaka Welegadara picked up two wickets for 47 runs off his four overs.Chasing the huge target, Wayamba never got off their hooks and were finally bundled out for 103 in 17.1 overs.Wayamba’s struggle can be gauged from the fact that only four of their batsmen — Shalika Karunanayake (25 not out), Ajantha Mendis (15), Isuru Udana (14) and Mahela Jayawardene (10) — got double figures.R Aswin (4/18) and Albie Morkel (3/22) were the wrecker-in-chief for Chennai, picking up four and three wickets respectively.Wayamba had a horrible start to their run chase as they lost two of their top-order batsmen inside the third over with just 18 runs on the board.Morkel was the successful bowler on both the occasions.advertisementWhile he had opener Jeevantha Kulatunga for a first ball duck in the second delivery of the innings, captain Jehan Mubarak outside edged one straight into the gloves of his Chennai counterpart Mahendra Singh Dhoni in the third over.As if that was not enough for the struggling Wayamba, their most-experienced batsman Jayawardene once again disappointed as he upper-cut one straight to Muttiah Muralitharan at third man off Doug Bollinger with the scoreboard reading 18 for three.Morkel scalped his third victim of the day in the form of Janith Perera, who produced a leading edge straight into the palms of Muralitharan.Off-spinner Ashwin then joined the party and cleaned up both Kaushal Lokuarachchi and Thisara Perera within a span of four balls to spell the doom for the Sri Lankan side.Laxmipathy Balaji and Muralitharan too registered their name in the scoreboard with the wicket of Isuru Udana and last man Chanaka Welegadara.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *